Improvisation: How Do I Love Thee? (Sonnet Yes And)

(After How Do I Love Thee, Sonnet 43, by Elizabeth Barrett Browning)

How do I love thee? Let me count the ways.

I love thee to the depth and breadth and height

That my warming-up arms can reach, when stretching to the moon

For the cow that jumped over it and fell too soon.

I love thee in every shabby room above every pub

On every broken down stage, by strip and by lime-light.

I love thee freely, to Zip to Zap and Boing

I love thee purely, to Yes and to And

I love thee with a giddy passion that is the long and short (form) of it.

I love thee with a love many seem to lose

As they grow old and the world becomes less playful.

I love thee with the breath, smiles, laughter, of all my life

From the tips of my fingers to the toes of my converse enclosed feet.

 I love you though you leave me with nothing,

 For though I am poor in pocket, I am rich in twatting about.

2 thoughts on “Improvisation: How Do I Love Thee? (Sonnet Yes And)

Leave a Reply

